13 candidates for 6 offices announced for May 1 Waverly Town Election

By: Terry Harris | Email: Click Here
Posted: Mar. 31, 2018 | 5:45 p.m.

TOWN OF WAVERLY – Now that the filing deadline has passed for the May 1 election for Waverly Mayor and Town Council members, the roster of candidates is complete. With 13 total candidates for the six offices, it is expected to be an interesting race.

According to the General Registrar’s Office of Sussex County, candidates, in the order of their filing, are:


  • Walter J. Mason
  • Angela W. McPhaul


  • Van L. Turner
  • Barbara Turner Banks
  • Barbara L. Taylor
  • Henry A. Thompson
  • Kayda Pope Thornton
  • Jonathan L. Butts
  • Clyde E. Johnson
  • Miriam G. Edwards
  • B. Allen Bernstorf, Jr.
  • B. Franklin Cox
  • Cheryl D. Jones

Turner, Banks, Taylor, Thompson and Thornton are incumbents. Cox, Bernstorf, Butts, Edwards, and Johnson have announced their intention of running with McPhaul as a slate.

Each of the candidates for mayor was asked if a date had been set for the mayoral debate agreed to in a recent town council meeting.  Both replied that a date had not yet been set.

When asked how they felt about the prospect of a debate, McPhaul responded, “I’m excited.  I want to make a difference.  My understanding is that Waverly used to be such a vibrant place – a place where you’d be proud to live.  I’d like to see that here, again, and I believe we can make that happen.”

Mason, when asked the same question, first said that he was unaware of any agreed-to debate. He later amended that to say that he had not remembered the discussion, and added, “… to me, in my opinion, debating her would be a waste of time, because nobody knows anything about her. And I want you to write that. I was informed that I did say that I would debate her, but I don’t know if that’s going to happen because what would I debate her on? I don’t know anything about her.”

Copyright 2018 by Womack Publishing
Send Us Your News Tips or Report an Error

Leave a Reply